Delaware Wedding Florist: Masquerade Inspired Editorial Shoot

The idea of a masquerade inspired editorial photo shoot has been in my head for some time now.  One day while I was having lunch with Kylene Cleaver of Leave It to Me Photography, I told her about my vision.  She became giddy with joy and told me that she would love to capture my idea in film.  From there, everything just fell in place for this editorial shoot.

Photo: Leave It to Me Photography

Photo: Leave It to Me Photography

Let me start with how this crazy (or as Kylene calls it “genius”) idea came to be in my head.  First, I must admit to my guilty pleasure of reading historical romance novels.  Yup, I love them!  In the majority of the novels, there always seems to be a masquerade ball where everyone gets dressed up and wears a mask.  It adds a sense of mystery, intrigue, and romance!  This was where my inspiration began.  I wanted to find a way to keep those feelings while using flowers and greens to create a bridal masquerade look.

Photo: Leave It to Me Photography

Photo: Leave It to Me Photography

To go along with my vision, we selected the “Vivian” gown by Matthew Christopher from Jennifer’s Bridal.  Can I just tell you how stunning this dress was?!  All of the seams had tiny little pearls!  It had the simplest yet regal style that I wanted for this shoot.  Adding an extra touch of glam, we also borrowed these gorgeous earrings and bracelet by Haute Bride from Jennifer’s Bridal.

Photo: Leave It to Me Photography

Photo: Leave It to Me Photography

When deciding on a color palette, I decided that I wanted to use marsala, which is the Pantone color of the year, and some pinks and blushes with a touch of gold.  Pantone describes marsala as a “naturally robust and earthy wine red.”  I consider it a burgundy or dark red/fuschia.  This kept with the richness and depth that I wanted to portray in the photos.  I added burgundy feathers and rose gold wire for different textures and to add some whimsy.

Photo: Leave It to Me Photography

Photo: Leave It to Me Photography

Photo: Leave It to Me Photography

Photo: Leave It to Me Photography

Personally, I love a cascading bouquet…. so that is the style that I went with for this shoot.  It definitely added drama, and it was perfect with this incredible bridal gown!  To top everything off, the mask enhanced the mystery of the look.

Photo: Leave It to Me Photography

Photo: Leave It to Me Photography

Jen Terrell of Jen’s Hair Creations did a breathtaking job on Kathleen’s hair and makeup!  We also could not have asked for a more ideal location than the Buena Vista Mansion!  The mansion and grounds are fabulous!

I hope that you enjoyed all of the gorgeousness captured by Kylene Cleaver of Leave It to Me Photography!  It was amazing to see something in my head come to life!  I hope that these pictures inspire you for your wedding.  Contact me today to schedule your floral consultation.

Photo: Leave It to Me Photography

Photo: Leave It to Me Photography

VENDOR LOVE | Venue:  Buena Vista Mansion | Photography:  Leave It to Me Photography | Flowers:  Floral Designs by Jessi | Hair & Makeup:  Jen’s Hair Creations | Dress Designer:  Matthew Christopher | Jewelry Designer:  Haute Bride | Dress & Jewelry:  Jennifer’s Bridal | Model: Kathleen Corcoran

1 thought on “Delaware Wedding Florist: Masquerade Inspired Editorial Shoot

  1. Pingback: A Floral Wedding Masquerade | Morning Cup of Wedding

Leave a comment